Derrick Smith

Derrick W. Smith

Phone:(501) 688.8845
Location: Little Rock
Bar Admissions: Arkansas, District of Columbia

Derrick Smith is a member of the Firm’s Insurance Regulatory, Government Relations, and Energy & Utility practices where he represents clients in their interactions with Arkansas governmental entities and state insurance departments throughout the United States. Prior to joining the firm, he served as a law clerk to the Honorable Olly Neal, Arkansas Court of Appeals, from 2000-2001.


  • Extensive experience obtaining regulatory approvals of insurance company transactions including formations, re-domestications, mergers and acquisitions and demutualizaions.
  • Negotiating and resolving multiple single and multi-state market conduct investigations.
  • Assisting with the development of new insurance products from the preparation of policy language though regulatory approval.
  • Advising insurance companies and related entities regarding compliance with laws governing licensing, claims adjudication, and sales practices.
  • Assisting trade associations, insurance companies, public utilities and other enterprises achieve policy goals by drafting and advocating for and against legislation and agency rules and regulations.
  • Preparing and reviewing campaign finance reports for political candidates, ballot question committees, and political action committees.
  • Challenging and defending state procurement decisions.


  • University of Arkansas at Little Rock, William H. Bowen School of Law J.D., with honors (2000)
  • Hendrix College B.A., American Studies (1997)

Professional Recognition

  • The Best Lawyers in America©:  Administrative/Regulatory Law (2016-2020)
  • Arkansas Business Arkansas 250 Most Influential Leader (2019)
  • Arkansas Business 40 Under 40 (2006)


  • Member, Arkansas Bar Association
  • Member, W. Harold Flowers Law Society
  • Member, National Bar Association
  • Member, American Bar Association
  • Commissioner, Arkansas Judicial Discipline and Disability Commission (2005)
  • Commissioner, Arkansas Lottery Commission (2009 – 2011)
  • President, Hendrix College Alumni Association Board of Governors (2003 – 2004)
  • Commissioner, Little Rock Central High Integration 50th Anniversary Commission (2004-2008)
  • Member, Mitchell Williams Board of Directors