Firm News

Mitchell Williams Attorney Craig Cockrell Speaks at Association of Fundraising Professional Meeting

March 21, 2018

ROGERS – Mitchell, Williams, Selig, Gates & Woodyard, P.L.L.C., member Craig Cockrell spoke at the Association of Fundraising Professionals Northwest Arkansas Chapter (AFP NWA) luncheon meeting on March 21.

The new tax law passed by Congress directly and indirectly impacts nonprofits and their fundraising efforts in many ways. Cockrell discussed the changes in the laws related to nonprofit organizations and charitable giving. In addition, he provided an update on practical issues for maintaining an organization’s tax-exempt status, such as providing receipts for contributions, the risk of accepting large gifts and following a conflict of interest policy.

Cockrell has a specialized practice focused on providing tax and transactional advice to businesses, municipalities, state agencies and individuals. He has extensive experience in representing businesses and individuals in administrative tax proceedings before the IRS and Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration. He was selected by Super Lawyers as a 2017 Mid-South Rising Star in estate and probate law and was selected to the Northwest Arkansas Business Journal’s list of 40 Under 40 in 2017.

AFP NWA offers members the opportunity to connect with colleagues, engage in creative thinking, network with professionals and achieve great results in their work. It focuses on delivering educational programs and events to help reach nonprofits’ goals. AFP NWA provides opportunities for volunteering, sponsorships and more.


About Mitchell Williams

Mitchell, Williams, Selig, Gates & Woodyard, P.L.L.C. is a full service corporate law firm that provides strategic, trusted counsel in matters of business, litigation and regulated entities. The firm offers clients comprehensive legal services, decades of diverse professional experience and extensive relationships. Established in 1954, the firm currently employs more than 90 attorneys in Little Rock, Rogers and Jonesboro, Arkansas and Austin, Texas.