Firm News

Attorneys Megan Hargraves and Ben Jackson Present at Professional Liability Defense Federation Annual Meeting

October 02, 2017

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. - Mitchell, Williams, Selig, Gates & Woodyard P.L.L.C., Members Megan Hargraves and Benjamin D. Jackson presented at the Professional Liability Defense Federation’s annual meeting in Chicago on September 28.

The presentation, “Social Media Use and Misuse: LPL/Discipline Complaints and Litigation Tool,” examined social media in the litigation context, including both how misuse of social media can result in malpractice exposure and disciplinary complaints. Presenting alongside Hargraves and Jackson were attorney John G. Browning, of Passman & Jones in Dallas, and Timothy J. Gephart, CPCU, vice president of claims at Minnesota Lawyers Mutual Insurance Company and president of the Professional Liability Defense Foundation. The panel also discussed social media as a litigation tool, how attorneys are utilizing social media in all phases of malpractice cases and how claims professionals can use social media in claim and fraud detection unit investigations.

Hargraves and Jackson are both members of the Mitchell Williams litigation team. Hargraves practices in the areas of medical malpractice, products liability and general insurance defense. Jackson handles litigation in the areas or products liability, class action and multi-district litigation, as well as forms of appellate advocacy, mediation and arbitration.

The Professional Liability Defense Federation brings together attorneys, claims professionals and risk management specialists to share expertise and information helpful to the successful defense of professional liability claims.


About Mitchell Williams

Mitchell, Williams, Selig, Gates & Woodyard, P.L.L.C. is a full service corporate law firm that provides trusted strategic counsel to clients in business, litigation, regulated entities and insurance regulatory matters. Established in 1954, the firm currently employs more than 85 attorneys in Little Rock, Rogers and Jonesboro, Arkansas and Austin, Texas.