Little Rock Rogers Jonesboro Austin **MitchellWilliamsLaw.com** 

Mitchell, Williams, Selig, Gates & Woodyard, P.L.L.C.

Walter Wright, Jr. wwright@mwlaw.com (501) 688.8839

## Ozone NAAQS/Clean Air Act: U.S. Energy and Commerce Committee/Subcommittee on Energy and Power April 14th Hearing

## Arkansas Environmental, Energy, and Water Law Blog

## 04/15/2016

The Subcommittee on Energy and Power of the U.S. House of Representatives Energy and Commerce Committee ("Committee") held a hearing on April 14<sup>th</sup> titled *H.R. 4775, Ozone Standards Implementation Act of 2016*.

An April 12 Committee Majority Staff Memorandum ("Majority Memorandum") states that a focus of the hearing would be the United States Environmental Protection Agency's rulemakings associated with the Clean Air Act Ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standards ("NAAQS") and:

- the provisions of H.R. 4775
- practical challenges to implementing Ozone standards
- potential improvements to the NAAQS process
- impacts of revised NAAQS on jobs and economic growth
- costs of revised NAAQS to households and consumers

The Majority Memorandum provides background on the Clean Air Act Ozone NAAQS developments and projected nonattainment for various portions of the country. It further provides projected costs related to a revised ozone NAAQS and an overview of H.R. 4775. Former Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality Director Teresa Marks is quoted in regards to the Clean Air Act's five-year timeline for agency review of NAAQS (See footnote 21 of the Majority Memorandum).

Janet McCabe, Acting Assistant Administrator – Office of Air and Radiation, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, submitted a written statement for the record. Witnesses at the hearing included:

- Misael Cabrera, Director Arizona Department of Environmental Quality
- Alan Matheson, Executive Director Utah Department of Environmental Quality
- Ali Mirzakhalili, Director of Air Quality Delaware of Natural Resources & Environmental Control
- Seyed Sadredin, Executive Director/Air Pollution Control Officer San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District
- Bryan Shaw, Chairman Texas Commission on Environmental Quality

Click here to download a copy of the Majority Memorandum along with the written statements.