Little Rock Rogers Jonesboro Austin **MitchellWilliamsLaw.com**

Mitchell, Williams, Selig, Gates & Woodyard, P.L.L.C.

Arkansas Governor Hutchinson Executive Order 21-21: Arkansas Energy Resources Council Established

12/27/2021

Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson's Office issued a December 20th news release noting execution of three Executive Orders ("EO").

The third EO (21-21) establishes the Arkansas Energy Resources Council ("AERC").

The establishment of the AERC was a recommendation of the Arkansas Energy Resources Planning Task Force ("Task Force"). The Task Force had been previously established by Governor Hutchinson pursuant to EO 21-05 to address:

- Vulnerabilities in critical energy resources because of winter storms
- Increased demand/inadequate supply of critical energy/Arkansas business closures
- Need to evaluate the ability of Arkansas's critical energy resources and infrastructure to withstand extreme events

The Task Force heard from a number of Arkansas regulators and energy stakeholders and published a report which included various recommended actions.

EO-21-21 states that the AERC's purpose is to facilitate technical and policy discussion among regulators and stakeholders. Further, it is tasked to develop and maintain educational materials on:

... best practices regarding preparedness and communication in advance and during events that may disrupt the supply of critical energy resources.

The Arkansas Department of Energy & Environment i("ADEE") is designated as the host and facilitator of the AERC. Therefore, ADEE Secretary Becky Keogh will serve as Chairman. The other members of the AERC are identified as:

- The Secretary of the Department of Commerce;
- The Chairman of the Arkansas Public Service;
- The Arkansas Attorney General;
- The Director of the Arkansas Division of Emergency Management;
- The President and Chief Executive Officer of Entergy;
- The President of Empire District Electric Company;
- The President and Chief Executive Officer of Electric Cooperative Corporation of Arkansas;
- The President and Chief Executive Officer of Oklahoma Gas and Electric;
- The President and Chief Operating Officer of Southwestern Electric Power Company;
- The President and Chief Executive Officer of Black Hills Corporation;



Walter Wright, Jr. wwright@mwlaw.com (501) 688.8839

- The President and Chief Executive Officer of Summit Utilities;
- The Director of the Arkansas Independent Producers and Royalty Owners (AIPRO);
- The Director of the Arkansas Propane Gas Association APGA;
- The Chief Executive Officer of Midcontinent Independent System Operator, Inc.;
- The President and Chief Executive Officer of Southwest Power Pool, Inc.;
- The President and Chief Executive Officer of the Arkansas Municipal Power Association;
- The President and Chief Executive Officer of the Arkansas State Chamber of Commerce;
- The President of the Arkansas Forest and Paper Council;
- A Representative of Arkansas Gas Consumers, Inc.; and
- A Representative of Arkansas Electric Energy Consumers, Inc.

The December 20th news release can be downloaded here and EO 21-21 here.