News & Alerts

Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission Sets Number of Cultivators

December 22, 2016

At a meeting Tuesday, December 20, 2016, the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission voted to set the number of licensed medical marijuana cultivation facilities at five. The Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment gives the Commission discretion to license between four and eight cultivators.

The Commission voted 3-2 in favor of a proposal by Commissioner Dr. Carlos Roman to license one cultivator in each of the state’s five public health regions. Commissioners Dr. Roman, Dr. Ronda Henry-Tillman, and James Miller voted in favor of the proposal. Commissioners Travis Story and Dr. Stephen Carroll voted against the proposal.

Arkansas public health regions are defined by counties, with the state divided into the  Northwest, Northeast, Southwest, Southeast, and Central regions. A map of the Arkansas Public Health Regions can be found here.

Other topics discussed at the meeting included quality control and consistency of product, packaging and labeling, security, and transportation. The Commission also requested that staff research funding availability for travel to another state or states to view cultivation facilities. No vote was held on these issues.

The Commission’s next meeting will be December 22, 2016, at 5:00 p.m., followed by a meeting on Tuesday, December 27, 2016, at 4:00 p.m.

The five members of the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission are Commission Chairperson Dr. Ronda Henry-Tillman, a professor of surgery and surgical oncologist at UAMS, James Miller of Bryant, Little Rock pain physician Dr. Carlos Roman, Fayetteville lawyer Travis Story, and Dr. Stephen Carroll of Benton.

The members of the Mitchell Williams Medical Marijuana Practice Group are Harry Hamlin, Morril Harriman, Jr., Benjamin Brenner, Bethany Marshall, Melissa Bandy, Alan Lewis, Nicole Lovell, Scott Schallhorn, Courtney Crouch, Mary Catherine Way, and Meg Johnston.