Little Rock Rogers Jonesboro Austin **MitchellWilliamsLaw.com**

Mitchell, Williams, Selig, Gates & Woodyard, P.L.L.C.

Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality Reorganization: Update

Arkansas Environmental, Energy, and Water Law Blog

02/22/2016

As previously noted, the Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality ("ADEQ") has placed its regulatory and/or environmental media divisions into three "Offices" which are denominated Water, Air and Land Resources.

Tammy Harrelson heads the Office of Land Resources with the title of Senior Associate Director.

I understand that the Land Resources Office has been broken into four "sections" (that may not be the correct term) which include:

(1) Waste Programs

I understand that Tammie Hynum will be the head of this section with the title of "Assistant Director Waste Programs". Ms. Hynum was formerly Chief of the Hazardous Waste Division. I am assuming that the designation "Waste Programs" will encompass both the former Hazardous Waste and Solid Waste Divisions.

(2) Compliance and Emergency Response

I understand that Penny Wilson formerly a branch manager with the Hazardous Waste Division and Scott McWilliams formerly a branch manager with the Solid Waste Division will jointly head this section. I do not know at this point their respective titles or supervisory responsibilities.

(3) Petroleum and Enforcement

I understand that former Regulated Storage Tank Division Chief Joe Hoover will head this section. I do not know at this point his title. It is my impression that this section will have responsibility for various storage tank regulatory requirements and include enforcement personnel for all programs within the Office of Land Resources. While all enforcement personnel will be consolidated they will not cross-train. In other words, underground storage tank enforcement personnel will remain focused on that area, hazardous waste on their area, etc. Mr. Hoover headed the Enforcement Branch of the former Hazardous Waste Division earlier in his ADEQ career.

(4) Mining

The Mining Section will be headed by former Mining Division Chief James F. Stephens. I do not know at this point Mr. Stephens' title. Mr. Stephens was formerly the Chief of the Mining Division.



Walter Wright, Jr. wwright@mwlaw.com (501) 688.8839